Air Crash Investigation Mayday S14E10: “Death in the Arctic” – First Air Flight 6560




Air Crash Investigation Mayday S14E10: “Death in the Arctic” – First Air Flight 6560
irst Air Flight 6560 was a charter flight which crashed near Resolute, Nunavut, Canada, on 20 August 2011. Of the 15 people on board, 12 were killed, and three were injured but survived. The aircraft involved, a First Air passenger-cargo convertible (combi) Boeing 737-200, was flying within Canada, from Yellowknife Airport, Northwest Territories, to Resolute Bay Airport, Nunavut. It crashed approximately 2 km (1.2 mi) east of the Resolute Bay Airport runway.[2][3]

The three survivors, a 48-year-old man, 23-year-old woman and 7-year-old girl,[4] were medivaced to Iqaluit.[3] The last radio call was received at 12:40 pm CDT (17:40 UTC),[5] at which time the aircraft was, according to First Air, about 8 km (5.0 mi) from Resolute Bay Airport, and the aircraft crashed some 10 minutes later.[6][7]

There are conflicting reports about the time of the accident. According to First Air and Transport Canada’s Civil Aviation Daily Occurrence Reporting System the crash occurred at 12:40 pm CDT (17:40 UTC).[7][8] However, according to the Transportation Safety Board of Canada the crash happened an hour earlier at 11:42 am CDT (16:42 UTC) and 1 nautical mile (1.9 km; 1.2 mi) east of the airport.[1]
Air Crash Investigation Mayday S14E10: “Death in the Arctic” – First Air Flight 6560
On 20 August 2011, First Air Flight 6560, a charter flight, crashes near its destination of Resolute Bay Airport, Resolute, Nunavut, Canada, in poor weather conditions. Out of the 15 passengers and crew members, only three survived.

Flights

Air Charter
#<LinkAnchor:0x00000009b1cf98>” src=”https://hitleap.com/assets/banner-241ef1f2c690b6812aeeff6c0fb91f39ffc8a214c0b2c6c11d8a96f7c98b8fab.png” width=”468″ height=”60″></a></p>
<div class=